I can’t believe I MISSED “Left-Handers’ Day”!!!!!

To the LEFT of the WORLD
lefty.gif


http://www.lefthandersday.com/

UGH, I am a Leftie and I am sooooo upset I missed this day.
Left-handers go through a lot, such as:
-writing with your left hand, you get INK smudges a lot
-can openers, scissors…growing up my mom had to teach me how to use correctly
-KITCHEN KNIVES!
-in High School music class, I wanted to play the Ukulele, but my teacher, and I quote “I don’t have the time to teach a left hander”, made me learn to play….wait for it….RECORDER!

August 13th of each year is International Lefthanders’ Day.
It was begun in 1976 by the fellow who started Lefthanders’ International.

A study suggested that approximately 8 to 15% of the adult population was left-handed.

Chris McManus of University College London, argues that the proportion of left-handers is rising and left-handed people as a group have historically produced an above-average quota of high achievers. He says that left-handers’ brains are structured differently in a way that widens their range of abilities, and the genes that determine left-handedness also govern development of the language centers of the brain.

Studies indicate that left-handedness is more common in males than females.

A left-handed individual may be known as a southpaw.

Famous LEFTIES:
*Leonardo da Vinci *Charlie Chaplin
*Michelangelo *Tom Cruise
*Mark Twain *Robert DeNiro
*David Byrne (Talking Heads) *Angelina Jolie
*Kurt Cobain (Nirvana) *Jerry Seinfeld
*Dick Dale (guitarist) *Dick Van Dyke
*Judy Garland *Bruce Willis
*Issac Hayes *Oprah
*Paul McCartney *Rachmaninoff
*Tiny Tim *Dan Aykroyd
*George Burns

AND…..

KERMIT THE FROG!

kermit.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under News, Stuff

Leave a Reply

